Posted by Rosie Tan Segil on Jun 13, 2022
The Marblehead Rotary Club congratulates the students who have been awarded its 2022 scholarships in academics, leadership, community service, and extracurricular activities.   These scholarships support one of Marblehead Rotary Club's most important goals: assisting local students in pursuing their studies at higher education institutions.  Yearly, Marblehead Rotary awards four to six students with a one-time scholarship and one with a four-year scholarship.  There are six outstanding awardees:  Sophia Nickolas, Tariq Abdelkahlek, Benjamin Kahn, Alexis Earp, Grace Miller, and Owen Murphy.
The Marblehead Rotary Club awarded the four-year Randolph E. and Barbara K. Goodwin Memorial Scholarship to Grace Miller who plans to enter the University of California (UCLA) to pursue a career in the guardianship of the environment through the field of scientific studies and policy advocacy.  Owen Murphy is this year's Donald Humphreys Memorial Rotary Scholarship recipient.  This annual scholarship is named after Donald Humphreys, a World War II Marine Veteran who served in Guadalcanal.  As a retired and regular citizen, he was known as "Mr. Marblehead," a passionate Rotarian, and a great friend to many in our community.  Humphrey was so highly regarded as a member of the Marblehead Rotary Club that the board of trustees established a scholarship in his name.  Murphy will attend Belmont University to pursue music production this Fall.  Benjamin Kahn plans to attend the University of Michigan in the Fall, majoring in Economics.  Tariq Abdelkahler will pursue a program in computer science at the University of Maryland. Sophia Nickolas hopes to commit to playing soccer in college when she enters St. Lawrence University in the Fall.  Alexis Earp is committed to studying French while pursuing a neuroscience career at Vassar College. 
Pictured here: Nancy Gwin, Chair of Marblehead Rotary Club Scholarship Committee. Students: Owen Murphy, Ben Kahn, Tariq Abdelkahlek, Grace Miller, and Alexis Earp.  Not in photo: Sophia Nikolas.